The New Huntmastersbbs!

my profile | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The New Huntmastersbbs!   » Firearms forum   » 22 CM (Page 1)

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!  
This topic comprises 4 pages: 1  2  3  4 

Author Topic: 22 CM
Ariel Perez
Knows what it's all about
Member # 4678

Icon 1 posted July 19, 2018 01:01 PM      Profile for Ariel Perez   Email Ariel Perez         Edit/Delete Post 
What is everybody’s thoughts on the 22 cm? It seems to be the new hot caliber that everybody is building for their coyote rigs, just curious if anybody has one. Do you like it? Is it all it’s cracked up to be? I have been shooting a 243 for the last 6-7 years and I just can’t get myself to switch. I have one that’s shoots 58 grain vmax and another one that shoots 70 nosler. My barrel for the 58 grain finally went out so I’m just curious if I just buy a 22cm barrel or should I stick with the 243?? Is the BC that big of a difference to convert?

--------------------
AP

Posts: 60 | From: South/eastern Az | Registered: May 2016  |  IP: Logged
Leonard
HMFIC
Member # 2

Icon 1 posted July 19, 2018 01:11 PM      Profile for Leonard   Author's Homepage   Email Leonard         Edit/Delete Post 
First of all, what is a 22cm?

You know, a 243 is kinda hard to beat if all you want is a cartridge for killing coyotes. I have a 243 that I use the 70 Nosler and it is one of the more destructive bullets I have ever used in 243. Nothing wrong with that, if you don't care about the fur. I don't have a heck of a lot of experience with the lighter bullets but did shoot the 60 gr, Sierra in a 6mm for quite a while. Good killer and very accurate.

Anyway, when it comes to good 224 caliber cartridges for coyotes, again, it's hard to beat a 22-250Ackley. I don't know what it is about a 22CM that makes it popular, since I never heard of it, but to be superior to the 22-250 AI, that's a tall order.