The New Huntmastersbbs!

my profile | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The New Huntmastersbbs!   » Predator forum   » Decoy Dog Advice

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Decoy Dog Advice
ursus21
2nd place, John Denver lookalike Contest
Member # 3556

Icon 1 posted July 31, 2014 08:39 AM      Profile for ursus21           Edit/Delete Post 
I am getting a mountain cur pup in September specifically for decoying coyotes. I've read everything I can find about decoy dogs and have watched all the videos I could find. With that said I'm open to any advice that might make this experience good for the both of us. I've raised and trained bird dogs before. I also call in and kill a lot of coyotes. So I have basic dog training knowledge and this dog will see lots of coyotes. I'm hoping for any advice that will help me train him to run to the howl and then return when I want him back.
Posts: 780 | From: Montana | Registered: Jan 2010  |  IP: Logged
Kelly Jackson
SECOND PLACE/GARTH BROOKS LOOK-A-LIKE CONTEST
Member # 977

Icon 1 posted July 31, 2014 09:46 AM      Profile for Kelly Jackson   Email Kelly Jackson         Edit/Delete Post 
Run him with a dog that goes to howls.
Posts: 997 | From: Comanche OK | Registered: Oct 2006  |  IP: Logged
ursus21
Member # 3556

Icon 1 posted July 31, 2014 10:18 AM      Profile for ursus21           Edit/Delete Post 
Kelly,
I wish that were an option but I don't know a single person locally that has a decoy dog let alone has one that runs to a howl. So I'm pretty much completely on my own here.

On a side not I've sure been impressed with how well your dogs are doing on those videos you post. Please keep doing that as I watch everyone one of them multiple times.

Kelly Jackson
SECOND PLACE/GARTH BROOKS LOOK-A-LIKE CONTEST
Member # 977

Icon 1 posted July 31, 2014 10:54 AM      Profile for Kelly Jackson   Email Kelly Jackson         Edit/Delete Post